Lost

I am lost; lost in love, lost in life.

Caught between wrong and right.

I spoke of a sordid past that clouded your eyes.

I took a piece of  your heart and lost mine.

I wish I could give it back, but I can’t.

I say that I am sorry, but the words taste

Old and stale in my mouth.

Hurt wells up in your misty eyes

And I see the trust fall down

Your dolorous face in rivers.

Its haunting image weighs heavy

Upon my unfortunate soul.

But I carry it up a steep climb,

Hoping that one day I might

Regain what I have lost.

Leave a Reply

