Caged

I’m crawlin’ outta my skin,

Like a festerin’ wound I

Gnaw it. scratch it. bite it.

I have t’get outta here,

Outta this cage an’ fight it!

 

I feel trapped, choked, and charred

By life;

Crawlin’ from one cage to the next.

From rat nayest to rat nayest;

A bee leavin’ the hive.

I get in my car and drive;

Fightin’ tooth and nail for a penny.

Sittin’ in my four-walled prison

‘Til my fettered hands are free.

 

I’m a shadow of my own existence.

A photocopied sack of piss and shit

With a name-tag and nothin’ more.

Another sheep in the herd a’grazin’

On another blade o’ grass.

Another corpse to toss

In the hungry maw of the bloated earth.

 

I’m crawlin’ outta my skin,

Like a festerin’ wound I

Gnaw it. scratch it. bite it.

I have t’get outta here,

Outta this cage an’ fight it!

 

One thought on “Caged

  1. I have felt this way…..stuck in traffic day after day….breathing the exhaust from the 18-wheelers all around me. Trapped.

Leave a Reply

