Our Eyes

Image

S. DiSparti

I saw you across the room

unfettered by the world.

Your form swaying in the boughs

Of an unforgiving ‘ale.

Your head tilted back, amused

As laughter spilled down your throat.

 

I saw him across the room,

His arm coiled about you

Like an ugly snake squeezing

The life out of its hapless prey.

I saw those worm-like fingers

Slither over the warm earth

Of your body, now spoiled

And rotting in the soil.

 

I saw the red behind my eyes

Flare, setting my cheeks afire.

They burned with malice that threatened

To seize the flames disheartened.

 

I saw the way he looked at you,

Lust-filled, lecherous, and lewd;

Sans the love I carry for you.

His slavering tongue slow-

Ly lashing behind his fanged teeth

Like a feral caged beast.

 

My eyes drifted down the limpid

Waters that shaped the contours

Of your body that hinted

That it wanted to be devoured.

 

He saw my eyes glazed with lust,

And a storm began to blow the dust

Upon his furrowed brow.

A fire spewed from his lips

As it struck me to the ground.

 

The thunder slowly died

But the clouds still remained

As he took you away from me,

I saw the sadness in our eyes

Hide in shame.

Leave a Reply

