The Window Pane

Image

I see the fleeting love that

Hits my window pane.

And the autumn leaves

Bid farewell to the tree,

Smothered by the hungry

Snow like distant memories

Lost to the cruelty of time.

My finger traces the tear-

Stained path along the window

Pane, but soon I am lost,

Forgetting where I started.

I see the fleeting love that

Haunts my window pane.

And the profusion of a

Bleeding heart blots out

The very sun and I

Forget where you end

And I begin, because

Such ties can’t easily

Be broken, yet they are.

You cannot pluck this

Timid rose without feeling

The thorns poisoning your own.

No, we stare blankly through

The same caliginous

Glass, through the same splintered

Pain in hopes that the future

Won’t betray our eager hearts.

Leave a Reply

