Of Drugs and Dreams

OF DRUGS AND DREAMS

by: Spencer D.

I see that misleading line drawn in the sand,

A line I have crossed so many times before

Like cables entwined about my mind,

I can’t even tell if I am awake or still asleep.

Walls melt and creatures dance along them.

I hear myself talking, but my lips are sown shut

Like a twitching rag doll lying in the corner.

This is the stuff of drugs and dreams.

A world beyond the world; beyond the veil.

Pulling back its heavy curtain, I scream.

Horror and laughter throttle my throat, turning in-

To something more sinister.

I am so cold; I am sweating a body of tears.

My fear-webbed eyes, spin like clockwork.

I feel an itch I can’t ever seem to reach…

This is the stuff of drugs and dreams.

© SD 09/02/2013

Leave a Reply

